2018 FEKO Student Competition

The FEKO Student Competition is an international contest organised annually by the Altair team in support of engineering education.  The competition is open to all under-graduate and post-graduate students, anywhere in the world, who are using FEKO.

Solve an engineering problem using FEKO and you could win!


Find out more about the 2018 winning entries



The FEKO Student Competition has been running for more than 15 years and attracts students interested in antennas, microwave devices, bio-electromagnetic compatibility and other electromagnetic related fields and gives them an opportunity to showcase their work using FEKO software.

What were we looking for?

The winner is judged on the extent to which FEKO features were appropriately applied for the maximum benefit, as well as on insight shown into the EM problem at hand. 

Your submission should clearly describe: 

  1. The research problem
  2. The modelling approach and solution method(s) used
  3. The results and conclusions drawn

What could you win?

  1. A state-of-the-art laptop computer to the value of $2000 USD OR paid attendance to one of Altair's Technical Conferences (ATC or ATCx) of your choice, including travel accommodation costs to the value of $2000 USD.
  2. Recognition on the Altair website as well as reference in all press releases relating to the FEKO Student Competition event.
  3. Your supervisor also can win an online store gift voucher to the value of $400 USD.


See our past FEKO Student Competition Winners!

2018 Winning Entry Didier Goulet-Tran from Polytechnique Montreal, Canada

2018 Honorable Mentions Vignesh Mahohar (UCLA, USA) & Sumitra Dey (University of Missouri Kansas City, USA)

2017 Winning entry   Kei Li from Xidian University, China

2017 Honorable Mentions Vignesh Manohar (UCLA, USA) & S Vinoth Kumar (III, India)

2016 Winner
Daniel Ung, Curtin University/ICRAR (Australia)
"Embedded Element Pattern Beam Model for Murchison Widefield Array"

2016 Honorable Mention
Montaha Bouezzeddine, RheinMain University of Applied Sciences (Germany)
"Design of a 4-Port Tunable MIMO Antenna System for a Femto-Cell Base-Station using FEKO"

2015 Winner
Ting-Yen Shih, University of Wisconson-Madison (USA)
"Design of Platform-Mounted HF Antennas with Enhanced Bandwidth using Characteristic Mode Configuration in FEKO"

2015 Honorable Mentions
Marno van Rooyen, University of Pretoria (South Africa)
"Dual Band Directional WLAN Antenna with High Gain"

Mahrukh Khan, University of Missouri (USA)
"Characteristic Mode Analysis of a Class of Emperical Design Techniques for Probe-Fed U-Slot Micro-Strip Patch Antennas using FEKO"

Stanley O'Kuja University of Stellenbosch (South Africa)
"Characterization of RF Signal Coupling Between MeerKAT Telescopic Structures"